The Lorax

Standard

Yesterday I took my (DA Blodgett) Little Sister to see Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax.  For those of you who are Seuss-deprived, the children’s book chronicles The Lorax, who speaks for the trees.  It takes us on a journey from his perfect forest full of trees, to the trees’ destruction to produce the fashionable thneed, and the circle back to the forest again.

The movie focuses more on the town of Thneedville and a boy’s journey as opposed to the Lorax’s story.  It was basically a tale about a town without trees, and therefore no fresh air, and a boy’s quest to find a real tree for the girl he loves.

As a tree-hugger, I must admit that I cried at the end!  There is a scene where the town breaks out into song while making the decision as to whether they should plant the last remaining seed so they can have a real tree.I hope I don’t spoil the end of the PG movie ending, but they do decide to plant it.  It made me so happy to see these sweet little Thneeds making the right decision about planting the tree.

Whether you are 4 years old or 23 years old, I would highly recommend the movie.

Really, I love how Dr. Seuss, who wrote this book in 1971,  relayed messages like “Save the Trees!” in an entertaining, effective manner to both children and parents alike.  It is very inspiring to an aspiring children’s book writer like myself.

And just remember, “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

Leave a Reply

