Bedtime Songs

Standard

There is nearly nothing more precious to me than the sound of children singing.  Seeing as I no longer have a plethora of young siblings now that we’re all grown up, I don’t tend to hear lots of little kids at one time.  But I do have one little two-and-three-quarters-year-old brother.

This post is short and sweet, but on a cold, windy night tonight, I remember being a little kid and cuddling up with Mom or Dad before bed asking for “Just one more story! Puh-lease!” Once we were done reading about Disney princesses or Dr. Seuss, I’d sometimes get a song from Dad.  With the wind cooing outside and the sun nearly swallowed up by the earth, a bedtime song had the perfect balance of comfort and purity put to me to sleep.

Today life gets so hectic with doing this for work, driving here, running this errand, forgetting that paper, waking up too early, and getting to bed too late.  It’s a precious moment like a dad singing to his child  that I often forget about until I take a moment to slow down and see them being relived with my youngest brother.

Below is a clip my step-mom recently sent me over of my dad and Brady going back in time a bit with their rendition of “Country Road.”  It’s nothing jazzy in case you’re expecting something upbeat.  The two of them singing this is just…pure.

Take a listen for yourself, but don’t say I didn’t warn you: get your tissues out.



Bedtime songs nestle up to the “comfort zone” spot in my heart, and that makes me happy.

2 responses »

  1. You'll have to ask Dad (or Aunt Patty) to sing the song that Grandma Boe used to sing to all her kids and then grandchildren. I remember her singing to you when she was pushing you on a swing in the backyard…great memory! Dad learned from a great lady that this simple ritual will leave a very lasting and happy impression. Good job Joe!

Leave a Reply

