Audrey Hepburn

Standard

I have been an Audrey Hepburn fan since I was young enough to believe she was an American actress.

Audrey is symbol of poise and eloquence.  Someone who was both vulnerable and resilient. She gave all of herself to the poorest in the world unlike the Kardashians of today’s society.   Audrey and the momentos I have of her remind me that elegance and love for others are forever remembered.

For my most recent birthday, Keegan and his family treated me to Audrey-themed celebration.

First, I received an “anonymous post card” a few days before my birthday.

Front

Back

A birthday note from Audrey?! What?!  This post card kept me rattling my brain for two days until his mom admitted she was the sneaky one who sent it to me! (Honestly, I was comparing hand writing and inspecting the post marks trying to figure it out.)  I felt like a young Nancy Drew trying to solve this mystery!

She also surprised me with this Audrey ring! I can look down and pop! There’s one of my idols!
“Brianna, are your shoulders square?
Think of your posture!” she seems to say with a smile.
When I was a teenager, my mother would surprise me with a framed picture of Audrey hanging in my room.  To this day, I’ve brought them to every place I’ve lived.  Here are some of my favorites:
Audrey Pic1

The green speech bubble is Audrey saying,
“You are beautiful!”

And I said, what about about breakfast at Tiffany’s?

My mom has also bought me a number of Audrey Hepburn shirts that I love. I feel like the daughter of a baroness myself when I wear them. (Audrey’s mother was a baroness in case you didn’t know.)

Along with another amazing framed picture of her, Keegan got me a biography of Audrey Hepburn written by Donald Spoto called Enchantment. He told the story of Audrey starting from before she was born, through her years in Europe during the Holocaust, followed through her rise to stardom, her growth into a world-wide advocate for UNICEF and the children of the world, right to her last moments. When she took her last breath on the last page of the book, I started crying because I felt like I, myself, had lost a friend.  I learned so much about Audrey, her dreams, her thoughts, her hardships, and her career then I had ever known.  Spoto did an amazing job of telling Audrey’s story while still respecting her as a person.

Great read.

Yes, Audrey was a style icon who helped Givenchy become a household name, but she was so much more than that.  She was a real person, who had doubts and insecurities, cares and beliefs, and she is the kind of immortal celebrity who will always be remembered, at least by me, for what she gave to this world: and it was so much more than Roman Holiday.  She become the Goodwill Ambassador for UNICEF in 1988 and traveled the world helping needy children in the most forsaken parts of the world. She held children in her arms as they took their final breaths.  She was the not the celebrity who cared only for herself.  In fact, she had a difficult time with that.  She always cared for those around her more than herself.  She gave herself to the most needy of the world.

Courtesy of Unicef.org

To see someone so beautiful, so privileged in her adult life to go from making one million dollars a picture to $2,000 a year for a non-profit is unheard of.  It shows me what real beauty is all about.

That is why Audrey Hepburn makes me so happy.
4 responses »

  1. Let's not forget the Holly Golightly inspired updo for senior prom! What a truly inspiring human being. May I borrow the book for some summer reading?

Leave a Reply

