Donating Blood

Standard

Finally I can check one of my short-term goals off. Yesterday, for the first time ever, I donated blood!

Thumbs up for giving blood!

The Michigan Blood Center had a Love Michigan blood drive promotion going on from July 24-July 26, so I decided that would be a great time to go in for my first donation. There was quite a crowd of people at the Grand Rapids center and I later found out 488 people donated in the three-day span! That is a lot of blood.

I was also pleasantly surprised to run into one of my friends while there! It was apparently a great day to donate blood in Grand Rapids.

Because I’m a type 1 diabetic, I had to make sure my blood sugars had been stable throughout the day before donating, and they were perfect.  Then before I had my blood drawn I had to down a glass of orange juice  to ensure my blood sugar didn’t drop during the process.

Getting ready!

From there it was so easy!  The nurses had to take a small sample of blood to make sure I had enough iron, and they took my pulse and blood pressure.  Then I was walked over to THE most comfortable bed/chair…bair? ched?  I sat down, they propped up my arm with a pillow, and my arm was sanitized until it was orange.  The nurse poked the needle into my vein, and it was smooth sailing from there.

Total it took about an hour to get the pint of blood, but the time passed quickly because the nurse was SO funny! She told me with a wink that Keegan had to take me out to eat afterwards, and that I couldn’t do any sort of work when I got home. I just had to eat and relax. Okay, pull my arm! (Though not while the needle is in it please.)

When they were done drawing my blood, I sat in a waiting area for 15 minutes to make sure I didn’t pass out, and I didn’t! I did have jittery teeth though, but maybe it was because I was hungry? Who knows. But that subsided after 10 minutes.

Because there was the blood drive promotion, I also got a free t-shirt! Sweet!

Home sweet Michigan

The process was easy and pain-free, and I will be back in 56 days to donate another pint!

If you’re interested in making a donation, just go to the Michigan Blood website, and make an appointment online. It took me less than three minutes to make the appointment, and I’m so happy to be able to give of myself to help others!

I’ll end this with a pop-quiz: how many pints of blood does the average human contain?

Leave a Reply

