Your Driving Me Crazey With You’re Poor Grammer Choice’s

Standard
Your Driving Me Crazey With You’re Poor Grammer Choice’s

If you see no problem with this heading then immediately exit out of my blog. You will probably find no joy in my thoughts and you’ll think it’s terribly unimportant.  Actually, I suppose I am writing this blog for you. So sit down and take notes. Please.

On the other hand, if you wanted to either punch your computer in its metaphorical face or to track me down and force a copy of Webster’s dictionary upon me, then consider us friends.

Ever since middle school, I have been a grammar snob.  I admit it whole-heartedly. I try not to judge those who make poor grammar choices, but I cringe when I see a possessive pronoun has incorrectly taken the place of a contraction.  Through seventh and eighth grade, my favorite teacher taught our class the fundamentals of the English language.  We learned the 100+ prepositions; we memorized the auxiliary verbs with some help from the tune of “Happy Birthday”; we understood the differences between transitive and intransitive verbs.  At the age of 14, we were all grammar phenoms.

Then came high school.  My English teachers told me that if they were allowed to do so, they would send me home for the hour because I was learning nothing new.  Once the accelerated classes came along, I thrived! I loved to memorize new vocabulary words and to further understand syntax.  In fact, I was dubbed the Grammar Queen in 11th grade.  (There was even a crown.)

People today seem to have forgotten the basic rules.  If a word has an apostrophe, that very apostrophe is to be used for a contraction or for possessive purposes ONLY.  With the exception of a few words, plural words simply end in “s” or “es.” No apostrophes needed here! To, two, and too are NOT interchangeable words.  Some words are difficult to spell, and if unsure of the correct spelling of the word, simply look it up.

you'r ID

May the Lord help us all. This cannot be real.

What it boils down to is that we speak English, and we should all be well-educated as to the fundamentals of our own language.  “You’re” certainly cannot be replaced with “your”, and “well” is an adverb and should be treated as such! (You’re doing well; you’re not doing good unless you literally mean you are acting as a good Samaritan. Thus in that situation, you are doing good.)  I do not say any of this to boast but simply to iterate the importance of the proper use of grammar!

There are signs and publications with horrendous errors and wonder if people have simply forgotten the rules taught in middle school? Society is more familiar with Kim Kardashian’s love life than with the language they speak, and this is unacceptable! Our beloved friend the English language  will stand by us long after Kim breaks up with her seventh husband, so we need stand true to our beloved, faithful language.

Excuse me if my English degree is showing, but I light up when someone says, “This is she!” as opposed to “Yeah, it’s me. Waddup?!” on the phone.  I also love to hear how “My friend and I went to the bookstore” instead of “Me and her went out.”  I’m only asking that the basic rules of grammar and syntax are acknowledged here.

To conclude, there are two key points to remember, too. Firstly, there are no tricks to the the grammar rules, but words do have their feelings hurt if they’re not used correctly.  Secondly, you’re going to learn your proper grammar, or I’m going to go crazy!

8 responses »

  1. Your/You’re is one of my pet peeves and if I corrected people every time I saw it, they would ban me from Facebook, I’m sure of it. It’s a rampant problem that I believe is caused by Spellcheck. It doesn’t catch it, so people don’t learn. I’m on your side sister!

  2. “[W]ords do have their feelings hurt if they’re not used correctly.” You could turn this into a campaign, with t-shirts and everything. (Punctuation marks feel the same way.)

    Poor writing is bad enough, but I have to try really, REALLY hard to not correct people when speaking: “Send an e-mail to Dave and I.” GAH! And then there’s the made-up words and poor pronunciation: “Would of.” “Dethaw”? “Expecially”?! Can we band together and build our own Land of Generally Good English? Or maybe we just need Facebook for the Grammatically Inclined.

Leave a Reply

